holidays

Part 2-Tips on How to Do Your Christmas Shopping Without Spending Any Money!

10906181_10105514957128580_4286231126261372197_n

I hope everyone enjoyed reading Part 1 of Tips on How to Do Your Christmas Shopping Without Spending Any Money!  Below, I am sharing more tips with you, thanks for reading!

5. Online Surveys.  In 2007, I signed up to participate in surveys through a company called Epoll.  They send me a survey to complete every few days (sometimes, I don’t get a survey for a couple of weeks, then other times I get multiple sent per day).  These surveys take anywhere from 1-30 minutes to complete, with most taking me approximately 10 minutes.  You take these surveys, and earn points towards gift cards.  In 2015, I took 27 surveys, and earned two, $30 Amazon gift cards.  The surveys are all related to entertainment (what you think of certain television shows, what your perception is of certain celebrities, etc), and are super easy to complete.  You are also entered to win monthly instant drawings each time you complete a survey, but I have never won one of these.

Hint: Don’t wait until the last minute to order your gift card (such as the week before Christmas), because the gift cards take anywhere from 6-8 weeks to arrive.

6. Target Gift Cards.  We do our diaper shopping at Target, because of the great promotions they offer approximately every other week that helps me to stock up on gift cards.  They almost always have a promotion where you buy a certain number of diaper packages (they do this with wipes, and other products such as cat litter, as well), and you earn a Target gift card (ranging from $10-$20, depending on the specific promotion).  I never buy diapers unless they are having one of these promotions, and then I buy multiples to stock up on diapers, and gift cards.

Hint: Target allows you to stack coupons in addition to taking advantage of these promotions.  So, you can always use a store coupon (you can get these in the mail if you sign up for their mailing list, or they also print out at the register), a manufacturer coupon (such as Huggies), and the Cartwheel App.

7. Target Red Card.  This is not exactly free, but saves us a lot of money.  We have a Target Red Card, and it saves us 5% on every purchase (not counting gift cards).  The best part (for me) of the Target Red Card, is that it also gives you free shipping every day, on every item.  I take advantage of this great offer, by always purchasing gifts for family members that live far away using the Target Red Card so I don’t have to worry about paying for shipping, or going to the post office.

Hint:  Since you cannot get the 5% discount when purchasing gift cards, this is what I save my Target gift cards for (that I get from the diaper promotions).  Target allows you to use their promotional gift cards to purchase gift cards to other retailers, which is a great use of those free promotional gift cards!

8. Day After Christmas Shopping.  This is also not free, but saves me so much money in the long run.  Each year on December 26, I take about one hour to run out to Target to take advantage of the awesome after Christmas sales.  I am strategic about what I stock up on, because it has proven to save me a lot of money throughout the year.  I always stock up on paper products (plates, napkins, cups, tablecloths), and then this is what I bring to Shiloh and Phoenix’s daycare to contribute to their holiday parties the next year.  I also use these sales to stock up on little goodies (chapstick, lipgloss, baby bibs, etc) to use for Secret Santa and our Advent calendar.  Make sure to check the expiration date on the perishable items.

Hint: This is also a great time to buy items for events other than Christmas.  I always buy Valentine’s gifts for the daycare staff during this time, I simply search out products that are more generically decorated (snowflakes instead of santa, for example).  I also stock up on decorative items that can be used for Shiloh’s birthday party in January.  This year, I will be buying the gold and coral items (plates, napkins, garland, etc) that were marketed for Christmas, but will be perfect for her party.

Hint: Save a couple of your promotional gift cards that you earned earlier in the year, and use those to buy the after Christmas items.  I do this, and then it really is free for me this year, and saves me a ton for the next year, as well!

9. Credit Union Member Shopper.  If you are a member of a credit union, check out this program to become a member shopper!  I do this for our local credit union, and earn $15-$25 per month for simply completing a transaction (one that I would normally be doing anyway), and then submitting a short review about my experience.  The review takes me about 5 minutes to complete, and then $15-25 (depending on what kind of transaction you completed) is deposited into my checking account every month.

Hint: Make a separate account for holiday spending, and have this member shopper money automatically deposited into this account.  By the end of the year, you could have up to $300 to use on your holiday shopping, decorations, travel, etc.

IMG_9624

Thank you so much for reading, I sure hope these tips were helpful!  I hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Part 2-Tips on How to Do Your Christmas Shopping Without Spending Any Money!

Leave a Reply

